Solo Recital Tour 2014

NEKSIAMOILmapIn preparation for my upcoming recording this January, I have scheduled four recitals in four week in four states.

On November 1st, I gave a masterclass and presented a recital at Wayne State College in Wayne, Nebraska for their annual Octubafest. My former student, Josh Calkin teaches their and on Halloween night, his students presented a studio recital in costume. I had a great time getting to know his students and working with pianist Philip Pfaltzgraff.

On Monday, November 17th, my colleague Alan Huckleberry and I will going to University of Missouri Kansas City Conservatory. I’ll be giving a masterclass and a recital at and am looking forward to seeing Tom Stein again, who was my guest for the University of Iowa OkTUBAfest just a few weeks ago.

On Wednesday, November 19th, Alan and I will be heading to Illinois State University at Normal for a recital in the same hall that we will be recording in this January. Andrew Rummel, our host, will also be joining us onstage for a trio for two tubas and piano composed by Jerry Owen.

Finally, on December 2nd, I will give my solo faculty recital at the University of Iowa School of Music. Alan and I will be joined again by Andy Rummel for the Owen trio “Theme and Variations for Two Tubas and Piano”.

This will all culminate in January 2015, when we record this program for my second solo CD, which will be called: “Field Notes:Tuba Music from Iowa”. The complete program is listed below:

I Shall Buy a Black Horse – Czech folk melody arranged by Jerry Owen

Four Paintings by Grant Wood – by Barbara York. Commissioned by John Manning 2012
I. Stone City, Iowa
II. Young Corn
III. American Gothic
IV. Parson Weem’s Fable

Blue Grace – by Claire Sievers

Intra Muros – by Katharine Wohlman

Cheese Spread – by John Manning

Variations for Two Tubas and Piano – by Jerry Owen

Sonata en evoluçion constante – Roberto Pintos. Commissioned by John Manning in 2013

This entry was posted in Tuba Stuff. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

