Busy, Busy, Busy

It is a very busy time in TubaHead world. I have been working on so many things, combined with a nice quiet vacation, I have neglected blogging here for quite a while. Here is a list of some of my distractions:

• I discovered Tumblr, another blogging site, and created “Tuba Tumbler” which focuses mainly on interesting tuba photographs and links, until I recently realized that there are a finite number of interesting tuba pictures on the internet. I will maintain it, so if you spot any interesting tuba photos, let me know.

• Next week, my students and I will be giving a free workshop in Des Moines to high school and middle school tuba and euphonium players. Last semester, the University of Iowa School of music announced that they were taking proposals to apply for funding for recruiting projects. I asked a group of my students for ideas, and they had a great one. We decided to take our studio recital on the road, and work with students in a day-long format. Since Des Moines has the largest school district in the state of Iowa, I thought that we could reach the most students there. The day will include a warm up class; a masterclass; a pizza party; a Hawkeye Marching Band presentation by my students; free private lessons (all of my students and myself will teach one or two lessons); and the day culminates with the “Tuba Hawks” concert. Like our studio recitals, it will feature student soloists, chamber groups, and Collegium Tubum – our tuba euphonium ensemble. Registration worked quite well using Google forms, and we have over 25 students signed up. I even designed a special “Tuba Hawks” stickers to give each of the participants. Here’s the schedule:

Tuba Hawks Workshop Schedule
Des Moines, IA  – Wednesday, January 26, 2011
9:00am – Warm Up Class
10:00am – Masterclass
12:00 – Pizza Party
12:30 – Hawkeye Marching Band presentation
1:00 – Private Lessons
2:00 – “Tuba Hawks” Recital

• My solo faculty recital at the University of Iowa will be on February 3rd at 7:30 pm in the University Capitol Center Recital Hall. Joining me will be Lee Nguyen on piano. Here’s the program:

– Three Pieces by Leone Sinigaglia, arranged by Tim Olt
– Fantasia a Due for tuba and piano by Alfred Reed
– Concerto for Tuba by James Barnes, Op. 96
– Sonata for tuba and piano, “Shamanic Journey” by Barbara York

• The Atlantic Brass Quintet will be celebrating our 25th Anniversary with a tour of prominent east coast music schools in February. Here’s the schedule:

2/9 – Residency at Centereach High School on Long Island, NY
2/10 – Masterclass and Recital at the University of Massachusetts –  Amherst, MA
2/11 – Masterclass and Recital at the New England Conservatory of Music – Boston, MA
2/12 – Brass and Organ Recital with Ezequiel Menéndez at Cathedral of St. Joseph in Hartford, CT
2/13 – University of Connecticut Brass Festival
2/14 – Masterclass at the Juilliard School – New York, NY
2/15 – Masterclass at Berklee College of Music – Boston, MA

• Right after that, some of my students and I will be attending the Great Plains Regional Tuba Euphonium Conference at Pittsburg State University in Pittsburg, KS from 2/18-20.

• The Iowa Brass Quintet will be on tour throughout the Midwest in March. Here’s our itinerary:

3/28 – Bettendorf Family Museum – Bettendorf, IA
3/29 – University of Wisconsin – Whitewater, WI
3/30 – University of Wisconsin – Eau Claire, WI
3/31 – St. Olaf College – Northfield, MN

There’s more, but you get the picture. In case I don’t blog in a while, at least you know why. Stay Warm!

This entry was posted in Studio, Tuba Stuff and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Busy, Busy, Busy

  1. Dallas Moorhead says:

    Thank you for hosting this workshop. It helped me learn techniques and tips that improved my playing. My friends also had a good time. Thanks.

    • John Manning says:

      Dallas,

      You are welcome, you sounded great. I am really glad you enjoyed our Tuba Hawks workshop, and glad the information was helpful. Please stay in touch!

Leave a Reply

