Tuba Audition via Skype


Today I gave my first “virtual audition” online, through the video/audio software called Skype. It worked quite well. The student was in Arizona, and couldn’t travel for a live audition, although he had lived in Iowa in the past and has toured the University of Iowa campus. It did require that each of us have a webcam (mine is built into my iMac) and download the free software. You also have to register for an account, but you can keep in touch (and see) someone anywhere in the world – for free. You can also upgrade, of course, to take advantage of other features – like, call any regular telephone. Another thing that came in handy were my new apple earphones with a built-in microphone. So that the other person doesn’t hear there own voice from your audio as feedback, it is important to have headphones of some kind. Your built-in or external microphone should do well for audio quality. I always recommend music students audition live when considering music schools. Not only is it better to meet the teacher in person, but it is important to see the campus and get a feel for the surroundings. When you can’t, however, I think Skype is a good alternative.

This entry was posted in Studio, Technology and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Tuba Audition via Skype

  1. dennis askew says:

    we’ve done this a few times over the past couple of years–not the same as live, but a very good alternative. I’ve also been doing demo-lessons this way, before they come to audition. Don’t have any regular students doing this, yet, but I expect that day is around the corner……

    • John Manning says:

      Dennis,

      Actually, I think you gave me the idea. Love the sample lesson idea. I saw that some talent scouts will evaluate singers/actors for a paypal fee on Skype too. I wonder of you could give a confession to a priest that way?

  2. That’s awesome! I believe Skype (even though it has been very buggy recently) can be a great alternative. Especially since now most all digital recording devices can act as a usb microphone and give you great sound quality! I use my ZoomH4 as a microphone and it sounds really great; when speaking/podcasts, it is studio quality.

    John

Leave a Reply

