A & W Viral Tuba Contest

A&W CONTEST UPDATE:

I WON! Whadaya know, I just got this email from A&W:

John,

I’m writing to let you know that you’re the winner of the A&W Tuba Contest on Facebook! Congratulations – your entry was humorous and original.

Now I’d love to send you your $100 cheque. If you can send me your complete mailing address, and confirming the proper spelling of your name, I’ll arrange to have a cheque sent to you.

Again, congratulations on your win. I hope you had a great time. We certainly enjoyed watching your submission.

Regards,

Joanne Doldon
A&W Food Services of Canada Inc.

I was thrilled, but the reality is that I was the only contestant who made a video and put it on YouTube! I will be donating the money to the Woodbury Elementary School Music Department, in Marshalltown Iowa, which is the where I filmed the video.

The most exciting current news in the tuba world is the announcement of A & W Canada’s Viral Tuba Video Contest!!!

“The A&W Great Root Bear Tuba Contest.” It’s one of many events and activities during the week of April 7-13 designed to promote the opening of the fast food chain’s first new freestanding restaurant in Ottawa in 35 years.To celebrate the grand opening, Canadian tuba players are being invited to compete by posting videos of themselves playing the brand icon’s “Badum Badum” theme song on Facebook. Winners in four categories – as chosen by online voters – will share $2,000 in prizes. A fifth prize will be given to whichever musician racks up the most hits on YouTube.

That’s right, you heard it first here. I almost hesitate even posting about it due to what is sure to be stiff competition. Afterall, who likes root beer, viral videos, and giant “Root Bears” more than us tuba players? Here is the official Press Release.

Althought the contest calls for performances of the “Badum Badum” song, here is a link to their Jingle to get us all in the mood. May the best video win!

This entry was posted in Tuba Stuff and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to A & W Viral Tuba Contest

  1. Ah, I read about this too late! I slipped in a fun version on my undergraduate graduation recital and would’ve gladly paraded around Montreal in a bear suit playing it. lol

  2. Jim Lyon says:

    John…

    Congrats… greta idea!

  3. dancing says:

    dancing says : I absolutely agree with this !

Leave a Reply

